vortimodels.blogg.se

Mini vmac disk image
Mini vmac disk image







  1. #Mini vmac disk image driver
  2. #Mini vmac disk image full

It took me a while to get the hang of naming images correctly, but I’d have been absolutely lost without logs with this level of detail: BlueSCSI SD. Retrotechnology: it smells bad and it can kill you!Ī feature I really appreciate with the BlueSCSI is that it dumps a status log on the card every time it boots. Aside from the faint ponk of dodgy analogue board caps (I’ll fix ’em one day, I promise!), you have to remember to tiptoe around the life-ending voltages lurking at the back of the CRT when you’re working there.

#Mini vmac disk image driver

It needs a special long-thin Torx T15 driver to even get the case partially open, then you have to ease/fight the case the rest of the way.

mini vmac disk image

I’m trying to get as much as possible set up on the Micro-SD card while I can still access it, as the Classic II’s case is not something you can pop open on a whim. For now, I’m booting from one of the RaSCSI canned boot images plus a couple of the blank formatted drive images to put my own custom system on. The 2 GB images I made in Basilisk II weren’t recognized at all. I thought I knew what I was doing in making filesystem images (hence my recent nonsense anent HFS utilities), but clearly I was wrong. It didn’t fill me with much hope that the board I got with my kit looked like this, end on: There are two USB connectors on this board.ĭespite that oddness, it all soldered up fine (the surface-mount card slot was a little fiddly) and it fits inside the Classic II’s cavernously empty shell wherever I choose to stick it down. I’ve had nothing but miserable failure with Blue Pill boards, and very quickly moved on to STM32F4 board that actually work. The whole kit is very affordable, and a local maker sells them, so it was worth a try. One of the newer ways to replace a SCSI drive is the BlueSCSI, an open-everything design based on a cheap Blue Pill micro-controller board, a Micro-SD card slot and some passive components.

#Mini vmac disk image full

While the 40 MB Quantum SCSI drive in my Mac Classic II still works, it gets really full really fast and that old spinning rust won’t spin forever. There may be a lot to complain about with USB storage, but compared to SCSI, it just works. Apple used SCSI drives, which were super-cool at the time (multiple drives on one bus! extra devices like SCSI scanners, too!) but now seem an absolute pain.

mini vmac disk image

I like old (as in 68K old) Apple Macintoshes, but I don’t like their hard drives.









Mini vmac disk image